clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mizzou Basketball G Kim English Sees More Preseason Watch Lists

Missouri Tigers guard Kim English is getting more attention as the 2010 college basketball season gets underway. The Mizzou junior was named to the Naismith Award preseason watch list on Tuesday. Mizzou's official release notes previos winners include Bill Walton, Larry Bird, Michael Jordan, Patrick Ewing and David Robinson.

The most prestigious trophy in college and high school basketball, the Naismith was first awarded to the men's college basketball player of the year in 1969 (Lew Alcindor, UCLA).

There are 50 players from 44 schools in the Naismith Award preseason watch list. In February, they'll whittle that down to 30 via a fan vote. In March, four finalists are announced and the winner is chosen via fan vote and a board of selectors.

English is also on the 2010-11 Wooden Award preseason watch list. Just three Big 12 have won the award.