clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Umpires Overturn Call In Royals, Astros Game: Why Couldn't They Do That For Armando Galarrage?

On Thursday, umpires overturned a call in the Royals win over the Astros. Head umpire Tim McClelland said, "We're under a directive to get calls right if we can get them right."

Uhh....what about Armando Galarraga?

The Tigers pitcher had a no-hitter wrapped up before Jim Joyce blew the call at first with two-outs in the 9th. Within minutes, Joyce knew he had blown the call.

So why didn't they overturn the call then? Astros' pitcher Brett Myers wants to know.

“If they can overturn calls like that, I think they should overturn Galarraga's no-hitter,” Myers said. “If that's what they are starting to do when an umpire makes a mistake, then we have to live with it."

I don't think we'll be getting an answer on that one.

For more on the Royals victory last night, check out Royals Review.