clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kansas Jayhawks Make An Appearance On A Top 10 Champions List

I came across a listing of the Top 10 College Basketball Champions of the last 25 Years. The Jayhawks make several appearances on the list -- but only one of them is good.

Here's the best Jayhawk championship team in the last 25 years:

10) Kansas 2008- the 2008 Jayhawks squad, consisting of Mario Chalmers, Brandon Rush, Darrel Arthur, and Darnell Jackson put together one of the more impressive runs in recent memory. Coached by Bill Self, Kansas defeated the Cinderella story Davidson led by Stephen Curry in the elite 8, followed by a crushing of perennial favorite North Carolina, and an overtime classic victory over Memphis which included Mario Chalmers' three pointer that forced overtime. With a record of 37-3, and a consistent ranking at the top or near the top, the Jayhawks dominated the 2007-2008 season, winning their first title in 20 years.

KU has a presence at other spots along the list as well.

The ninth ranked championship team is the Carmelo-led 2003 Syracuse team who beat, you guessed it, Kansas in the final game.

The sixth ranked championship team is the 1997 Arizona Wildcats. I better not spend too much time on this one. I know Jayhawk fans still feel the sting.