The very first play in the Royals and A's matchup was a controversial one. SB Nation's Athletics Nation explains:
The very first play of the game was a wild one, as Coco Crisp smacked a ball down the line that drew chalk (ish). Unfortunately, it also nearly smacked the umpire, as well, and he incorrectly called the foul ball. However, after an umpire meeting, Coco Crisp was awarded second base, something you don't see very often, and certainly not a break that usually goes the A's way.
This is actually the second time this has happened to the Royals this season.
Back on June 17, the Royals and Astros had a call reversed. Here's the photo of the catch that was reversed: