clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bednarik Award Watch: Mizzou's Aldon Smith Lands On The Watch List

Mizzou's DE Aldon Smith had a terrific 2009 season.

He totaled 11.5 sacks and they all weren't against no-name, lower division schools -- eight came against the pass happy Big 12 offenses.

45 schools and 11 conferences are represented on the Chuck Bednarik Watch List, including Smith.

The award is given annually to the defensive player of the year, according to the Maxwell Club.

Semifinalists will be announced Nov. 8 and three finalists will be announced Nov. 22. The winner will be announced Dec. 9.