clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kansas Jayhawks Football Team Selects Five Captains For 2010 Season

The Kansas Jayhawks football team has announced five team captains for the 2010 season.

This is quite the honor because it's a team vote (except freshman) so it's coming from their peers.

Here are the five captains:

Offensive lineman Sal Capra, cornerback Chris Harris, defensive end Jake Laptad, running back Angus Quigley and linebacker Justin Springer.

Jayhawks coach Turner Gill commented on the captains.

"Our staff thought our players did an outstanding job of selecting excellent captains for the 2010 season," Gill said.  "All of these student-athletes have displayed phenomenal leadership qualities, both on and off the field, since I have arrived here."

All five of the players are first time captains.