clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four Kansas State Players On All-Big 12 First Team; Three More Cats Earn Individual Honors

The Big 12 today announced the winners of the 2011 All-Big 12 football awards, voted on by the league's ten head coaches.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Frank Alexander of Oklahoma (far left), Robert Griffin of Baylor (middle) and Iowa State's A.J. Klein
Frank Alexander of Oklahoma (far left), Robert Griffin of Baylor (middle) and Iowa State's A.J. Klein

Kansas State was one of the big winners as the 2011 All Big 12 football awards were announced today.

Wildcat coach Bill Snyder was named Coach of the Year, the third time he has captured the award in his 20 seasons on the sidelines for Kansas State. Wide-receiver and kick-returner Tyler Lockett was selected by the 10 league coaches as the Freshman Offensive Player of the Year, and linebacker Arthur Brown was named Defensive Newcomer of the Year. This is the sixth time in Big 12 history that a Kansas State player has been newcomer of the year on defense.

In addition, four from Kansas State were named to the All-Big 12 first team, one on offense and three on defense. On offense was lineman Clyde Aufner. First-team Wildcat selections on defense were Brown, lineman Ray Kibble and defensive back Nigel Malone. Arthur and Kibble are both seniors. Brown and Malone are juniors. Three Wildcats were named the all-conference second team, for a total of 10 players honored from Kansas State.

Missouri placed two on the All-Big 12 First-Team Offense: senior tight-end Michael Egnew and sophomore running back Henry Josey.

There was little mystery in who the Offensive Player of the Year would be. As expected, Baylor's multi-talented Robert Griffin III, who is also a finalist this season for the Heisman Trophy, walked away with the top honor on offense. Co-Players of the Year were named on defense: senior defensive end Frank Alexander of Oklahoma and junior linebacker A.J. Klein from Iowa State. This is the first time since the Big 12 was established (in 1996) that two have shared the league's top award on defense.

Other individual award winners were senior Grant Garner of Oklahoma State, Offensive Lineman of the Year. Garner is the second Cowboy to win this award in the past three years (Russell Okung won it in 2009). Another Oklahoma State player, junior Quinn Sharp, is Special Teams Player of the Year. Oklahoma State has dominated the Special Teams award in recent years. Sharp is the third from OSU to win the award in the last four seasons (Dez Bryant in 2008 and Dan Bailey last year).

Aaron Horne, a junior wide receiver from Iowa State is Offensive Newcomer of the Year. Quandre Diggs, a Texas defensive back, is Defensive Freshman of the Year, and OU's Alexander is Defensive Lineman of the Year. Diggs is the fifth member of the Texas Longhorns to be named Defensive Freshman of the Year.

Conference-champion Oklahoma State led all Big 12 schools, placing eight players on the 2011 All-Big 12 first team. Oklahoma was next with six, followed by Kansas State, Baylor and Texas with four. Missouri and Iowa State had two players named to the all-conference first team.

Oklahoma has received the most major awards in football in the 16 years of the Big 12 Conference with 27. Texas has won 23 major end-of-season awards; Kansas State, 19; Oklahoma State, 12; Iowa State, eight; Texas Tech, seven; Kansas and Missouri, six each; Texas A&M, 5, and Baylor, three. 

2011 All-Big 12 Football First Team


QB - Robert Griffin III (junior), Baylor

RB - Terrance Ganaway (senior), Baylor

RB - Henry Josey (sophomore), Missouri

FB - Trey Millard (sophomore), Oklahoma

WR - Kendall Wright (senior), Baylor

WR - Ryan Broyles (senior), Oklahoma

WR - Justin Blackmon (junior), Oklahoma State

TE - Michael Egnew (senior), Missouri

OL - Philip Blake (senior), Baylor

OL - Kelechi Osemele (senior), Iowa State

OL - Clyde Aufner (senior), Kansas State

OL - Gabe Ikard (sophomore), Oklahoma

OL - Levy Adcock (senior), Oklahoma State

OL - Grant Garner (senior), Oklahoma State

PK - Quinn Sharp (junior), Oklahoma State

KR/PR - Fozzy Whittaker (senior), Texas


DL - Ray Kibble (senior), Kansas State

DL - Frank Alexander (senior), Oklahoma

DL - Ronnell Lewis (junior), Oklahoma

DL - Jamie Blatnick (senior), Oklahoma State

DL - Alex Okafur (junior), Texas

LB - A.J. Klein (junior), Iowa State

LB - Arthur Brown (junior), Kansas State

LB - Emmanuel Acho (senior), Texas

DB - Nigel Malone (junior), Kansas State

DB - Jamell Fleming (senior), Oklahoma

DB - Brodrick Brown (junior), Oklahoma State

DB - Markelle Martin (senior), Oklahoma State

DB - Kenny Vaccaro (junior), Texas

P - Quinn Sharp (junior), Oklahoma State

For more information: 

Big 12 Conference official website 

More information on Kansas State Wildcats sports