clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

KU's Tim Biere, Mizzou's Michael Egnew Among 2011 Mackey Award Finalists

With former winners like Dallas Clark, Kellen Winslow Jr., Heath Miller and Aaron Hernandez, the Mackey Award has some incredible alumni succeeding at the highest levels of the NFL. Now a new set of finalists are hoping to add their name to the greatest tight ends in recent college memory in the upcoming 2011 football season, and two local players will try their best to have their name etched in that trophy at season's end.

Kansas' Tim Biere and Missouri's Michael Egnew are listed amid the early favorites for the 2011 Mackey Award and both deserve the accolades. Last year, Biere caught 19 passes for 228 yards to go with 4 touchdowns. Biere was also selected to the 2010 list, but failed to live up to potential and was plagued by drops and fumbles. The talent is clearly there, so expect him to bounce back in a big way.

Meanwhile, Egnew has the much better stats from last season with 90 catches for 792 yards and 5 touchdowns. He's arguably the favorite to win the award and should be taken in the first couple rounds of the NFL Draft next season if he stays healthy.

Both Biere and Egnew are among 35 preseason finalists for the award, representing the only Big 12 entries of the group. Kyler Reed of Nebraska was also included.