clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Kansas starting lineup: Kasey Kahne at pole for Hollywood 400

Kasey Kahne, one of NASCAR's most underrated drivers when it comes to qualifying, just did it again: The Hendrick Motorsports driver won the pole position for Sunday's Hollywood Casino 400 at Kansas Speedway.

The No. 1 qualifying spot was the fourth for Kahne this season and the 26th of his career. Since 2006, Kahne now has 20 poles – more than any other driver during that time.

Mark Martin (starting second) looked to have the time to beat until Kahne came along and bumped the veteran driver from the top spot with an average speed of 191.360 mph.

Kahne's speed was a track record, but all 46 drivers to make an attempt broke the track record on the newly repaved surface.

Kansas native Clint Bowyer will start third, followed by Kyle Busch and Aric Almirola. Points leader Brad Keselowski qualified 25th, while second-place Jimmie Johnson (seventh) and third-place Denny Hamlin (eighth) will start side-by-side.

Cole Whitt, David Stremme and Josh Wise failed to qualify for the race.

Here's the starting lineup for Sunday's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Kansas Speedway (Chase drivers in bold):

  1. Kasey Kahne
  2. Mark Martin
  3. Clint Bowyer
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Aric Almirola
  6. Ryan Newman
  7. Jimmie Johnson
  8. Joey Logano
  9. Denny Hamlin
  10. Kevin Harvick
  11. Greg Biffle
  12. Matt Kenseth
  13. AJ Allmendinger
  14. Paul Menard
  15. Sam Hornish Jr.
  16. Martin Truex Jr.
  17. Carl Edwards
  18. Marcos Ambrose
  19. Jeff Gordon
  20. Jeff Burton
  21. Jamie McMurray
  22. Bobby Labonte
  23. Michael McDowell
  24. Juan Pablo Montoya
  25. Brad Keselowski
  26. Landon Cassill
  27. JJ Yeley
  28. Casey Mears
  29. Kurt Busch
  30. Mike Bliss
  31. Travis Kvapil
  32. Trevor Bayne
  33. Tony Stewart
  34. Reed Sorenson
  35. Scott Speed
  36. Joe Nemechek
  37. David Ragan
  38. David Gilliland
  39. Regan Smith
  40. Danica Patrick
  41. Dave Blaney
  42. Timmy Hill
  43. Kelly Bires
DNQ: Cole Whitt, David Stremme, Josh Wise.

This story originally appeared at SB Nation.