clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Missouri basketball invited to 2014 Maui Invitational

The Missouri Tigers will return to Maui in 2014 for the first time since 1997.

Brian Spurlock-US PRESSWIRE

In 2014 the Missouri Tigers will return to EA Sports Maui Invitational for the first time since 1997. The Tigers' previously won the tournament in 1989.

The Arizona Wildcats, Purdue Boilermakers, Pittsburgh Panthers, BYU Cougars, Kansas St. Wildcats, and the San Diego St. Aztecs will join Missouri and host Chaminade in 2014, along with four teams to be announced at a later date. Tournament chair Dave Odom appeared pleased with the teams selected, stating:

The 2014 field promises to be a great one. With accomplished programs in Arizona, Missouri, Purdue and Pittsburgh and emerging teams including BYU and San Diego State, the 2014 tournament will feature fierce competition. This is one of the deepest and most balanced fields we've ever had."

The tournament started in 1984, two years after Chaminade pulled off a stunning upset over top-ranked Virginia in Honolulu. The 2014 tournament starts on Nov. 24 and ends Nov. 26.

The Tigers own a 6-3 record in Maui, and participated in the tournament in 1986, 1989 and 1997. Missouri is representing the Southeastern Conference in the tournament, as the Maui Invational selects one team from each of the six major conferences.

Illinois defeated the Butler Bulldogs 78-61 on Wednesday to win the 2012 Maui Invitational.