clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Two Kansas City-Area Student Athletes Names To 2012 Academic All-Big 12 First Team

Twenty Big 12 men's basketball players have been named to the conference's All-Academic Team for the 2011-12 season.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Big 12 Conference
Big 12 Conference

Four players from Iowa State head the 2012 Academic All-Big 12 men's basketball team that includes two players each from Kansas and Missouri and one from Kansas State.

Seniors Jordan Juenemann of Kansas and Victor Ojeleye of Kansas State were named to the Academic All-Big 12 first team along with Jarrett Sutton, a senior at Missouri and Robert Lewandowski of Texas Tech. Sutton and Lewandowsi are both from the Kansas City area (Sutton from Kansas City, Mo. and Lewandowski is from Leawood, Kan.). For Ojeleye and Lewandowski, it was the third time both have earned first-team academic honors.

Other first-team selections were senior guard Scott Christopherson and sophomores Melvin Ejim and Yempabou Palo of Iowa State; Fred Ellis of Baylor; Keiton Page and Darrell Williams of Oklahoma State and junior J'Covan Brown from Texas. Page and Brown are two-time honorees.

Senior Connor Teahan of Kansas, from Leawood, and Laurence Bowers of Missouri were selected to the second team, joined by three players from Oklahoma and one each from Baylor, Iowa State, Texas A&M and Texas Tech.

To be selected to the first team, a player must maintain a grade-point average of 3.20 or higher, either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled games. Freshmen and transfer students are not eligible. The selection criteria for second-team honorees is a grade average between 3.00 and 3.19.

2012 Academic All-Big 12 Men's Basketball

First Team

Fred Ellis, Baylor, senior

Scott Christopherson, Iowa State, senior

Melvin Ejim, Iowa State, sophomore

Yempabou Palo, Iowa State, sophomore

Jordan Juenemann, Kansas, senior

Victor Ojeleye, Kansas State, senior

Jarrett Sutton, Missouri, senior

Keiton Page, Oklahoma State, senior

Darrell Williams, Oklahoma State, senior

J'Covan Brown, Texas, junior

Robert Lewandowski, Texas Tech, senior

Second Team

Brady Heslip, Baylor, sophomore

Chris Allen, Iowa State, senior

Connor Teahan, Kansas, senior

Laurence Bowers, Missouri, senior

Andrew Fitzgerald, Oklahoma, junior

Barry Honore, Oklahoma, senior

Tyler Neal, Oklahoma, sophomore

Ray Turner, Texas A&M, junior

Jaye Crockett, Texas Tech, junior

For more information:

More information on Big 12 Conference sports