clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 NASCAR All-Star Race: Jimmie Johnson Takes Home Another All-Star Event Win

Jimmie Johnson joined elite company on Saturday night becoming just the third driver to win NASCAR's All-Star race event for the third time. That tied him with the late Dale Earnhardt Sr. and teammate Jeff Gordon for the most all time.

Brad Keselowski finished second and was followed by Matt Kenseth, Kyle Busch and Dale Earnhardt Jr who qualified for the race by winning the preliminary Sprint Showdown race.

Johnson won the first 20-lap segment of the race and was rewarded with the right to lead the field to pit road before the final 10-lap segment. From there Johnson saved his car and pitted often to set himself up for the sprint during the final 10-lap segment.

Matt Kenseth won the second segment and Brad Keselowski took the third. Dale Earnhardt Jr. won the fourth segment. Johnson started the final 10-lap shootout with the lead and cruised home for the victory.

Here is a look at the final results:

  1. Jimmie Johnson
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Matt Kenseth
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  6. Kevin Harvick
  7. Marcos Ambrose
  8. Kurt Busch
  9. Kasey Kahne
  10. Ryan Newman
  11. AJ Allmendinger
  12. Regan Smith
  13. Jeff Gordon
  14. Clint Bowyer
  15. Trevor Bayne
  16. Paul Menard
  17. Tony Stewart
  18. David Ragan
  19. Bobby Labonte
  20. Denny Hamlin
  21. Mark Martin
  22. Greg Biffle
  23. Carl Edwards