clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Heisman Trophy winners list: Johnny Manziel, Collin Klein or Manti Te'o will win the 2012 Heisman

The three nominees for the 2012 Heisman have been invited to New York for the trophy presentation.

Ronald Martinez

Collin Klein, Johnny Manziel and Manti Te'o will battle for the 2012 Heisman off the field on Saturday as all three nominees will travel to New York to discover the winner of the trophy this season.

Wide receiver Tim Brown was the last player from Notre Dame to win the award as he took home the trophy in 1987. History is working against Te'o as the last defensive player to win the award was Charles Woodson in 1997. Before Woodson, no defensive player had won the Heisman since Ernie Davis of Syracuse in 1961.

Texas A&M has just one Heisman winner in its school's history as running back John David Crow won the award in 1957. If he is victorious on Saturday, Manziel would become the first freshman to ever win the Heisman.

Collin Klein could become Kansas State's first ever Heisman winner if he wins the award on Saturday.

Past winners of the Heisman include:

2011 - Robert Griffin III
2010 - Cam Newton
2009 - Mark Ingram Jr.
2008 - Sam Bradford
2007 - Tim Tebow
2006 - Troy Smith
2005 - Reggie Bush
2004 - Matt Leinart
2003 - Jason White
2002 - Carson Palmer
2001 - Eric Crouch
2000 - Chris Weinke
1999 - Ron Dayne
1998 - Ricky Williams
1997 - Charles Woodson
1996 - Danny Wuerffel
1995 - Eddie George
1994 - Rashaan Salaam
1993 - Charlie ward
1992 - Gino Torretta
1991 - Desmond Howard
1990 - Ty Detmer