clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chiefs Safety Jon McGraw Named As Ed Block Courage Award Winner

Kansas City Chiefs safety Jon McGraw has been selected by his teammates as the team's Ed Block Courage Award winner. The award honors one player from each NFL team who exemplifies commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage.

"It's a tremendous honor and something that I'm very proud of," McGraw said. "The award is part of a tremendous organization that has a long line of special players and special human beings that have been recognized through it."

The Ed Block Award is named in honor of former longtime Colts trainer Ed Block. McGraw has stepped in as the starting safety for the Chiefs after an early season injury to Eric Berry. McGraw is a 10 year NFL veteran who has played in 118 games and recorded 298 tackles. He is a hard-working story of perseverance that exemplifies what the Ed Block award is meant for. 

McGraw will be honored at the 34th annual Courage Award Banquet along with the other 31 winners on March 13.