clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jamaal Charles, Eric Berry Take Home Chiefs Team Awards

The Kansas City Chiefs have voted on their team awards for the 2010 NFL season. Your MVP is RB Jamaal Charles and your rookie of the year is S Eric Berry. Both players had terrific seasons -- Charles for once again giving us a solid argument that he's the best back in the league and for Berry notching a Pro Bowl nod in year one.

The MVP award is named after Derrick Thomas while the rookie award is named after Mack Lee Hill. This award is a little extra special because it's voted on by their teammates and not just sports writers. 

While I wrote on Arrowhead Pride, "Was there every any doubt?", reader kcsno56 points out that, yes, there was some doubt on Charles. You could make an argument that QB Matt Cassel could have been the team MVP. But having multiple players to consider for team MVP is something KC hasn't had in a couple years so we'll welcome the debate. 

Berry was a solid choice for rookie of the year. He lead the team in interceptions and came in second in tackles as he earned a spot in the Pro Bowl. He was hyped coming into the season and did a good job of living up to much of it.

The awards will be presented at the 41st 101 awards on March 5 in downtown Kansas City.

Kudos to both Chiefs for well-deserved honors.