clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kansas State lands school record 20 players to All-Big 12 Team

Collin Klein's spectacular season has him on the All-Big 12 first team, and he's joined by a number of teammates.


20 players from the Kansas St. Wildcats have been named to the All-Big 12 team, the school's website reports, setting a new school record. Additionally, defensive end Meshak Williams was named Big 12 Defensive Lineman of the Year, and head coach Bill Snyder was named coach of the year by the other Big 12 coaches.

Collin Klein was a shoe-in for first-team honors in the Big 12 after throwing for 2,490 yards and fifteen touchdowns this season. He added another 890 yards and 22 touchdowns on the ground. Klein was selected to the first team by both the league's coaches and the Associated Press, an honor he shares with linebacker Arthur Brown, Williams, tight end Travis Tannahill and defensive back Ty Zimmerman. Zimmerman had five interceptions on the year, a tie for most on the team.

The complete list of All-Big 12 team members, as named by the AP:

First Team All-Big 12

  • QB Collin Klein
  • OL B.J. Finney
  • TE Travis Tannahill
  • DE Meshak Williams
  • LB Arthur Brown
  • DB Ty Zimmerman

Second Team All-Big 12

Honorable Mention All-Big 12

  • OL Tavon Rooks
  • FB Braden Wilson
  • WR Chris Harper
  • WR Tyler Lockett
  • RB John Hubert
  • Collin Klein (all-purpose)
  • LB Jarell Childs
  • P Ryan Doerr