clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kansas, Georgetown announce new basketball series

The Jayhawks and Hoyas will play a four-game series starting in 2013.


The Kansas Jayhawks and Georgetown Hoyas announced an agreement to play a four-game series beginning in December 2013 and extending through the 2017-18 season, according to a report by ESPN. The Jayhawks and Hoyas, long considered college basketball royalty, met for the first time in the regular season last year in the Maui Invitational, with Kansas winning 67-63.

The Jayhawks will host the first meeting between the schools in 2013, and will also hold the third game of the series in 2015. Georgetown will host the 2014 and 2016 games at the Verizon Center in Washington.

Kansas, which enters the 2012-13 season ranked seventh in the preseason polls, is well-known for scheduling quality opponents in the non-conference. In the coming season, the Jayhawks will face both Michigan State and Ohio State. Likewise, Georgetown usually schedules top-notch non-conference games, like this season's opener against Florida and early games against UCLA, Tennessee and Texas.