clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Big 12 Has Three Coaches Of The Year, Bill Self Is Totally Cool With It

The Big 12 conference has a three-headed monster when it comes to who is their coach of the year for the 2011-12 season. The coaches voted Bill Self of Kansas and Fred Hoiberg of Iowa State as their choice, while the AP writers went with Frank Haith of Missouri. Bill Self says this is a win-win-win for everyone involved in the Big 12.

Self says he doesn't care about the Big 12 coach of the year voting. Self says he voted for Missouri's Frank Haith to be conference coach of the year, because he thought he deserved it. Though Iowa State's Fred Hoiberg did a remarkable job as well. Having three different Big 12 coaches of the year this season is a tribute to the coaches in the league. There have been four teams in the league (KU, MU, Iowa State, Baylor) that far surpassed what their expectations were. You could make a case for a lot of different guys. That doesn't bother Self at all, and it's probably good for the league.

The Big 12 also announced on Monday that Kansas forward Thomas Robinson was named the AP's and coaches Big 12 player of the year. Oklahoma State's LeBryan Nash was named the AP Big 12 freshman of the year.

For more on the Big 12 Conference Championship check out Big 12 Hoops. For more college basketball news and analysis head on over to SB Nation's College Basketball page.