clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wayne Simien, Michael Bishop Among New Inductees Into Kansas Sports Hall Of Fame

Three former Kansas Jayhawks are among those announced as new inductees into the Kansas Sports Hall of Fame. Wayne Simien, Bud Stallworth and David Jaynes were all announced yesterday as part of October's class. Former Kansas State quarterback Michael Bishop is also among those elected.

Simien was an All-America basketball player at Kansas from 2002-05; Stallworth is one of three Jayhawks to earn All-America honors on the court and academically, he played at Kansas from 1970-72; and Jaynes was an All-America football player from 1971-73.

Other inductees from the Topeka Capitol-Journal include:

Kurt Budke, a Salina native who played basketball for Washburn, was named posthumously. He died in a November plane crash while on a recruiting trip as Oklahoma State's women's basketball coach.

Other inductees in the 2012 class are Harold Manning, a former Olympian who ran track for Wichita State; David Snyder, a former state tennis champion from Winfield who was a longtime coach at Texas; and Brenda Stolle, a former All-American in softball for Emporia State.

Raef LaFrentz and Mark Simoneau are among those who were inducted in 2011.