clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

John Mackey Award Watch List Features Kansas Tight End Mike Ragone

The best tight end every year in college football is given the annual John Mackey Award, and Clemson's Dwayne Allen won the trophy last year. This year, the watch list has officially been released and Kansas' Mike Ragone is only one of two from the entire Big 12 conference on the list. Tim Biere was on the list last year for Kansas.

The John Mackey Award, established in 2001, is awarded annually to the most outstanding tight end in FBS college football. In addition to demonstrating outstanding athletic prowess on the field, the award also stands for positive sportsmanship-like behavior, good academic standing & exceptional leadership abilities.

Semifinalists for the Mackey Award will be announced November 12. The remaining three finalists will be revealed November 19 with the winner being announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 6. The Rimington winner will be honored at the Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Neb., on Jan. 12, 2013.