clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big 12 Places 28 On Sports Illustrated's All-America Team Including Four From K-State

Robert Griffin III of Baylor headlines a group of 28 selected from the Big 12 to's All-America football teams.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Robert Griffin III of Baylor
Robert Griffin III of Baylor

Twenty-eight players from the Big 12 Conference have been named to's 2011 All-America football teams.

Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Robert Griffin III of Baylor headlined six from the Big 12 selected to the All-America first team (four on offense one on defense and one on special teams). Four more Big 12 representatives were named to the second team (two on offense, one on defense and one member of special teams).

Voted to the first team were Griffin at quarterback; wide-receiver Justin Blackmon, offensive lineman Grant Garner and defensive back Markelle Martin, all from Oklahoma State; offensive lineman Kelechi Osemele of Iowa State, and placekicker Randy Bullock of Texas A&M.

Baylor wide-receiver Kendall Wright and Levy Adcock, offensive lineman from Oklahoma State, were named to the All-America second team on offense, Oklahoma State's Broderick Brown on the second team at defensive back, and Tyler Lockett of Kansas State as a kick-returner on special teams.

Oklahoma State had five players selected to first or second teams and five more as honorable mention, the most of any school in the country.

The breakdown by team: Oklahoma State, 10; Kansas State, 4; Baylor, 3; Oklahoma, 3; Texas, 3; Missouri, 3; Iowa State, 2; Texas A&M, 1.

Here is the complete list of Big 12 players honored by

First Team


QB - Robert Griffin III, Baylor

WR - Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State

OL - Grant Garner, Oklahoma State

OL - Kelechi Osemele, Iowa State


S - Markelle Martin, Oklahoma State

Special Teams

PK - Randy Bullock, Texas A&M

Second Team


WR - Kendall Wright, Baylor

OL - Levy Adcock, Oklahoma State


CB - Broderick Brown

Special Teams

KR - Tyler Lockett, Kansas State

Honorable Mention


QB - Collin Klein, Kansas State

QB - Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma State

RB - Terrance Ganaway, Baylor

RB - Henry Josey, Missouri

WR - Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma

TE - Michael Egnew, Missouri


DL - Frank Alexander, Oklahoma

DL - Jamie Blatnick, Oklahoma State

DL - Alex Okafor, Texas

LB - Emmanuel Acho, Texas

LB - Arthur Brown, Kansas State

LB - Jake Knott, Iowa State

LB - Shaun Lewis, Oklahoma State

DB - E.J. Gaines, Missouri

DB - Nigel Malone, Kansas State

Special Teams

K - Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State

K - Justin Tucker, Texas

P - Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State