clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Collin Klein, Geno Smith among Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award finalists

Three Big 12 quarterbacks made the final list of 10 for the 2012 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.

Matthew Holst

Some of the best quarterbacks in the nation face each other week after week in the Big 12, and the latest list of finalists for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award showcase just that. Collin Klein of Kansas State, Landry Jones of Oklahoma and Geno Smith of West Virginia were all named among the top 10 candidates for the prestigious award in an announcement made on Thursday.

The list of 10 finalists was narrowed from an original field on 29 of the country's top college quarterbacks. Candidates for the Golden Arm Award must be completing their college eligibility or be a fourth-year junior, on schedule to graduate with his class. Candidates are judged upon character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership qualities, and athletic accomplishments.

The Big 12 is no stranger to winning this award. While Andrew Luck of Stanford won it last season for Stanford, previous winners include Texas Tech's Graham Harrell, Texas quarterback Colt McCoy, and Oklahoma's Jason White.

Other finalists this year include Matt Barkley of USC and Tajh Boyd of Clemson.