clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

All-Big 12 Football Awards: Oklahoma State's Justin Blackmon, Nebraska's Prince Amukamara Are Big Winners

The All-Big 12 team was announced on Tuesday and Oklahoma State's Justin Blackmon and Nebraska's Prince Amukamara are the big winners.

The All-Big 12 college football awards have been announced and it's Oklahoma State Cowboys WR Justin Blackmon, Nebraska Cornhuskers CB Prince Amukamara and OSU head coach Mike Gundy as the big winners. Blackmon won offensive player of the year, Amukamara is defensive player of the year and Gundy as head coach of the year. OSU had a very nice season that was slightly ruined last week against the Oklahoma Sooners.

Nebraska QB Taylor Martinez is the Big 12 offensive rookie of the year while Oklahoma State's Dan Bailey won special teams player of the year. Oklahoma's DB Troy Jefferson and Oklahoma State's LB Shaun Lewis were co-defensive players of the year.

Missouri had a few names on the All-Big 12 list: TE Michael Egnew, OL Tim Barnes and DL Aldon Smith on the first team. WR T.J. Moe and DL Jacquies Smith were on the second team.

For Kansas State, KR/PR William Powell landed on the first team while RB Daniel Thomas, OL Zach Kendall and DB Ty Zimmerman landed on the second team.

Kansas had no players represented on the first or second team. PR/KR  DJ Beshears, DL Jake Laptad and P Alonso Rojas were on the honorable mention team.

Here are the individual awards:

Coach of the Year Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State (6th year)
Offensive Lineman of the Year Nate Solder, Colorado, OT, Sr., Buena Vista, Colo.
Defensive Lineman of the Year Jeremy Beal, Oklahoma, DE, Sr., Carrollton, Texas
Offensive Freshman of the Year Taylor Martinez, Nebraska, QB, Fr., Corona, Calif.
Co-Defensive Freshman of the Year Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma, DB, Fr., Chula Vista, Calif.
Shaun Lewis, Oklahoma State, LB, Fr., Missouri City, Texas
Special Teams Player of the Year Dan Bailey, Oklahoma State, P/K, Sr., Mustang, Okla.
Newcomer of the Year Lavonte David, Nebraska, LB, Jr, Miami, Fla.
Defensive Player of the Year Prince Amukamara, Nebraska, CB, Sr., Glendale, Ariz.
Offensive Player of the Year Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State, WR, So., Ardmore, Okla.


Check out for the full list.